Season Cutoff Dates: Time Trial and Regatta Points

With Presentation Night preparations well underway, the 2013-2014 season is coming to a close very soon!

Time Trial Entries

Any further times for the club’s annual time trial competition will need to be sent by email to the Head of Rowing ( [email protected] ) by 12:00 midnight on Thursday 1 May 2014.
Entries must include the names of all crew, the cox and the timekeeper/safety marshal (see below).  Any entries received after that time will count for next season.
Entries are open in the traditional categories of:

  • Women’s coxed tub four
  • Women’s coxed tub pair
  • Women’s tub single
  • Men’s coxed tub four
  • Men’s coxed tub pair
  • Men’s tub single

The time trial courses and rules are unchanged from those posted here on the blog last year.  River navigation rules must be adhered to, and safety is your first priority.
Here is the official course for each boat class:

  • tub four: a running start from the lightpost outside the club – round the island anticlockwise – turn downstream with safety marshal’s ok (the marshal stands on north bank) – return to the lightpost finish line
  • tub pair and tub single: a running start from the club – up through Swan Street bridge until the stern clears the top of the 1st landing upstream of Swan St (where the safety marshal stands) – turn downstream with marshal’s ok – down middle arch Swan St – return

Crews must observe the point of turning for tub pair/tub single (no short cuts around the stanchion) and the requirement for a safety marshal on the bank to look for clear water to turn, and to keep time (cox keeping time is not permitted).  Stop/start time adjustments can be made where the turn at Swan Street or out of the island is unsafe due to river traffic.  No other adjustments are permitted.
Anyone submitting time/s within these rules will have them counted for this season’s points and the fastest time in each class will win.

Club Championships

Points towards the club championships for male/female/cox close as of 30 April 2014.  All regattas held after that date (including entries at the upcoming National Masters Regatta at West Lakes, SA on 1-4 May and the Albert Park Regatta on 10 May count towards next season.
The club awards points where a club member has competed in an event as a rower or cox representing RRC: one point for the entry and an additional point where the crew wins the event.
The male rower with the most points will be awarded the Mal Scott Memorial Trophy.  The female rower with the most points will be awarded the John Sawyer Trophy.  The coxswain with the most points will be awarded the Don Edwards Trophy.  Honour boards for each of these trophies are displayed in the club’s hall.
All winners will be announced at Presentation Night on Saturday 31 May 2014 – see full details here, and follow all club events right here on the website by going to the club’s events calendar.
If you have clicked on this post and haven’t yet subscribed to email updates, do it now! Just go to the subscribe box on the right hand side of the page.
Derek Begg
Head of Rowing
13-14 Season