Richmond announces Head of the Yarra crews

Head of Rowing Nicole Stupka today announced Richmond crews for this year’s Head of the Yarra regatta.
Richmond will field a total of four crews in this year’s race; one men’s crew, two women’s crews and a mixed master’s eight in what is rumoured to be the largest field assembled since the race began in 1957.
The event based on the annual ‘Tideway Head’ race held on the Thames in London is only open to eight oared boats attracts crews from all over Australia and is conducted on the Yarra River over an 8.6km course starting in the city and finishing in Hawthorn.
Nicole is confident that the Richmond crews will perform well this year following a strong build up to the regatta over the past few months.
“A number of Richmond crews are starting to hit a bit of form recently and we will be looking to consolidate the work that we have done in the coming weeks building up to the regatta” she said.
Richmond will also field a large number of crews in Melbourne Head which is being held in the week prior to the Head of the Yarra.
Richmond will also host the Head of the Yarra after party at the Richmond boat club on the Yarra after the conclusion of the regatta.
After party organiser Emma Catford said that the party will be themed as ‘retro’ in keeping with the ‘now stylish’ look of the boat club and members are in the process of accumulating old pieces of retro furniture to decorate the club for the night she said.
The after party will commence with a barbeque out the front of the boatshed from 7pm and will go well into the night with resident and former Hong Kong DJ Alex Playsted providing the tunes throughout the evening.
The crews that will represent Richmond for Head of the Yarra will be:
Mens C Grade Eight
Bow – Dennis Beck, 2 – Jonathan Downie, 3 – Matthew Lane, 4 – Andrew Smith, 5 – Alex Playsted, 6 – Martin Foster, 7 – Sam Morrison, Stroke – Tim Foster, Cox – Elaine Arrum, Coach – Simon Crunden
Female D Grade Eight
Susie Ballentyne, Rochelle Stockes, Katherine Slattery, Karen Doggett, Laura Schouten, Laura Matthews, Rosie Hicks, Sophia Robinson, Cox – Derek, Coach – John Latham
Female C Grade Eight
Edith Hamiton, Franzie Locher, Kate Dyball, Anthea Amos, Annalise Gehling, Fran Crotty, Steph Reilley, Geraldine Goss, Cox & Coach – Mike Numa
Masters Mixed 8
Elise Murch, Phil Walkom, Roger Pitt, Sally Mcarthur, Peter Zwar, Charlie Burke, Sally Allen, Julie Hope, Coach & Cox – Nicole Stupka