AGM Boat Naming Celebrations

julia boat namingThanks to everyone who joined us this Saturday for the RRC Annual General Meeting. When the official business was completed our attention turned to celebrating the naming of three new additions to our fleet and enjoying a good catch up after the Winter break, with thanks to our bar and bbq volunteers Lynn May, Karin Bouvin, Dennis Beck and Tim Evans.
Following our call out to members to nominate names for our new singles we celebrated two new creative names to the tiger fleet – Tiger Shark, previously fondly known as ‘Martin’s single’ and Flying Tiger, one of a pair of singles purchased through this years fundraising efforts.
3 Boat naming
We also took the opportunity to name a third single in honour of Julia Avis. Julia joined the club in 2001 and over many years served on the clubs committee as vice president and in the role of president from 2006-7. One of her great contributions to the club was the amazing amount of work she and others put in to the hugely successful ergothons of 2003 and 2004 which raised funds to enable the purchase of our current trailer. After completing her learn to row at Richmond she went on to win two state championships in the W8+ and Head of the Yarra in 2003.  These are just a couple of her achievements and we were delighted to recognise her contribution with the naming of a single.
The 2015-16 RRC committee with one nomination per position was confirmed at the AGM.
President  –  Karen Doggett
Vice President  –  Geraldine Goss
Secretary  –  Kathryn Macrow
Treasurer  –  Vicki Brennan
Captain of Boats  –  Barry Campbell
Head of Rowing  –  Rochelle Stokes
Facilities Coordinator  –  Lucy Crunden
Fundraising Coordinator  –  Cat Hardie
2 Ordinary Members  –  Derek Begg & Shern Timmins