RRC AGM 11am Sat 29th July

The Annual general meeting for RRC will be held at the boatclub from 11am on Saturday 29th July. This years committee will present the Annual report and financial statements and we invite all members of the Association to attend.
The meeting is also the opportunity to elect new members to the committee and all positions are available for full members of the club to nominate for (must be a member for minimum of two years). If you are interested in contributing to the club and want to know more about what you could do and what the different committee roles entail please feel free to contact me or speak to any of the current committee members about their experiences.
If you do wish to nominate, you are required to complete a nomination form (found on the documents page of our website) and submit it to the secretary at least 14 days prior to the meeting (BEFORE 15th July).
Along with the formal business of the day we will also be performing the official boat naming of the Dennis Beck, our brand new Sykes coxed quad/four which has been a great investment for the club already this year. This will be followed by refreshments in the boathouse so please show your support for the committee and your club by attending the AGM.
[wpfilebase tag=file path=’RRC_Documents/Nomination-for-Office-Bearer-July-2017.pdf’ /]

Committee update

I want to let you all know that unfortunately Shern Timmins has had to step down from the committee and the position of secretary this season. After serving on the committee last season I wish to thank her for all her hardwork  and know she will continue to be involved and help with the club. I also offer my thanks to Kathy Macrow who has been assisting in the role of secretary recently.
I am pleased to inform you all that stepping into the role of secretary from the position of general member is Jon Roberts and through unanimous vote at last nights committee meeting the vacant general member position will be filled by Aline Dejaegher. Aline along with helpful volunteer, Christine Sullivan, will be supporting the secretary primarily focusing on maintaining our membership register and welcoming new members to the club by way of our [email protected] email address.
Please join with me in thanking all the current committee members who are busy organising lots of things behind the scenes and watch this space for more info to come while we welcome Jon to his new role and Ally to the committee. If you would like to know if there is anyway you can help and volunteer at the club please contact me to discuss any ideas [email protected]

Season 2016-17

The AGM on Saturday 30th July saw the official completion of the 2015-16 season. I thank all those who attended the event and acknowledged the work of the committee over the past year. We were able to present very healthy financial statements for the association and a thorough report on the activities of the year (can be downloaded at the bottom of this blog).
I was very pleased to be able to announce due to the success of our fundraising efforts of the past year we have placed an order for a new stern coxed four/quad for the club which will be a great benefit to the club particularly to assist in our Development squad coaching where it is not always possible to have a coach on the bank as well as a cox in the boat. With a grand total of $23,500 from fundraising we also had some extra cash to invest in a new set of mens quad sculling oars and two new model ergos to replace our oldest ones. With our fundraising coordinator of this year, Cat Bower, stepping down from the committee as she begins to build her family we can thank her for her amazing work this year.
We also saw two further members of our committee step down and they will be both be sorely missed. Derek Begg has served on the committee for 12 years in the roles of Secretary, Head of Rowing, Head of Club Development and general member. His time and effort during this period should not be underestimated and we appreciate all his hardwork. Similarly, Vikki Brennan has fulfilled the role of general member and Treasurer whilst serving on the committee for the past four years and has invested much time in ensuring we are in the good financial position we are in today. I thank all our committee and members who have contributed to the club for the past year.
The new committee for the 2016-17 season was formed consisting of:
President – Karen Doggett
Vice-President – Geraldine Goss
Secretary – Shern Timmins
Treasurer – Kathy Macrow
Captain of Boats – Barry Campbell
Head of Rowing – Tim Evans
Facilities Coordinator – Lucy Crunden
Two ordinary members – Jon Roberts, Nic Forte
Fundraising Coordinator – vacant

However, I am very glad to report that since the meeting David Micallef has stepped up and volunteered to fill the role of Fundraising Coordinator and so I would like to congratulate and welcome him, Jon Roberts and Nic Forte our three new committee members.
Following the conclusion of the AGM we celebrated the newest addition to our fleet, the Remigando Fortis (Rowing Strong), our secondhand Sykes double/pair, with our National Masters winning single sculler, Michelle Joy, stepping up to the boat with a trusted hammer to perform the official naming. Thanks to everyone who then helped out with the bbq and bar as we celebrated the end of one season and the start of the next.
remigando fortis-01